I’m a Hoarder!

bsbp collage badge

Today, I’m participating in Lori Anderson’s Bead Soup Hoarders’ Edition!

I’ll keep the post short!

If you haven’t had a chance to read the previous post, my Bead Soup Partner is the lovely  Bonnie Coursolle  and below is the pendant that she sent me!

bd5be0_322fdb7b0ee647b5a091ad3eaa46a067-mv2_d_2776_1850_s_2

A beautiful dancing moon goddess!!  *swoon!! created by lampwork artist Louise Ingram.   I just love the sway of the hip!

It took a few days to work out a design and colorway that I felt properly honored the pendant.  And I’m in love with how it turned out and have already been wearing the necklace quite a bit.  Thank you Bonnie for the beautiful pendant!!

Goddess Pendant Necklace Close Up

IMG_2738.JPG

GoodessNecklace

The necklace is a mix of beadweaving and stringing.  The beadweaving stitch is tubular twisted herringbone using size 11/0 seed beads.

Thank you Lori for hosting another wonderful swap!!

Here is the link to the list of participating artist’s  http://www.prettythingsblog.com/2017/03/welcome-to-bead-soup-blog-party-bead.html

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have sometime today to create something!!

-Sally

26 thoughts on “I’m a Hoarder!

  1. Becky Pancake March 25, 2017 / 7:20 am

    Wow Sally, I am impressed with your design. I would not have thought of accenting that pendant with aqua even though it is my favorite color but it really makes the colors in that lovely pendant pop.

    Like

  2. lilruby jewelry March 25, 2017 / 1:53 pm

    Love this! I can see why you’d want to wear this often – the focal bead is so cool, and the seed beading combined with the turquoise rounds make it very special.

    Like

  3. Elisabeth Matouschek March 25, 2017 / 2:03 pm

    So nice how the seed-bead rope take the swing of the dancing godess – really nice!

    Like

  4. Sandi Volpe March 25, 2017 / 2:10 pm

    Gorgeous work, love the blue with the pendant and your rope is amazing!

    Like

  5. Tanya Goodwin March 25, 2017 / 2:34 pm

    I’m a sucker for herringbone and your rope is gorgeous. The bead caps are such a great way to transition. I love how your colors accent the focal bead. It’s just gorgeous!

    Like

  6. Barb Fernald March 25, 2017 / 3:45 pm

    What a great combination of colors. The woven beads are the perfect weight for the rest of the whole necklace. No wonder you’ve been wearing it a lot. I would too!

    Like

  7. craftyd March 25, 2017 / 5:45 pm

    Gorgeous necklace, love your beading too. The color combo is perfect.
    Dolores

    Like

  8. Shaiha March 25, 2017 / 6:27 pm

    What a wonderful blend of colors! Really made the Goddess sing and I can see why she will get a lot of use.

    Like

  9. goodrivergallery March 25, 2017 / 9:17 pm

    You did a beautiful job. Thanks for sharing so much inspiration with us.

    Like

  10. Liz March 26, 2017 / 2:48 am

    The focal is amazing, and your combination of weaving and stringing is nothing short of brilliant. The goddess is in motion, the blue beads are the momentary pause in the dance, and then she whirls away with the tubular twisted herringbone. Joy. Freedom. Perfect!

    Like

  11. Tracy S. March 26, 2017 / 3:26 am

    Simple yet sophisticated and elegant design – I love it. Your rope was the perfect way to showcase the lovely focal bead you received in your soup.

    Like

  12. Dorota March 26, 2017 / 7:42 am

    amazing necklace!great herringbone stitch!

    Like

  13. Kathy Lindemer March 26, 2017 / 3:48 pm

    I have got to learn to do the beadweaving stitch — tubular twisted herringbone . It is perfect for your necklace. The colors work so well with the focal. Really pretty!

    Like

  14. Rachel March 26, 2017 / 4:36 pm

    You did a gorgeous job with the colors, and that beaded rope is perfection!

    Like

  15. Sooz March 26, 2017 / 8:04 pm

    How lovely! I am also jealous of your herringbone stitch capabilities! I haven’t mastered that one yet….

    Like

  16. CJ Bauschka March 27, 2017 / 2:24 pm

    Love when I see fellow beadweavers work displayed so beautifully. Every aspect of your design is exceptional!!!

    Like

  17. Ann March 28, 2017 / 1:53 am

    Very pretty, your choice of accent beads really makes the pendant stand out.

    Like

  18. Hope Smitherman March 28, 2017 / 2:15 am

    You accented that bead perfectly with your combo. Those seed beads are the exact palette. What a really beautiful piece. Wonderful work as always!!

    Like

  19. Dorothy Supri March 28, 2017 / 5:15 am

    What an elegant focal! Your bead weaving is just beautiful – wonderful piece!

    Like

  20. Jasvanti March 28, 2017 / 5:34 pm

    Your necklace is lovely!!
    I love the herringbone rope that you incorporated on the necklace. it matches perfectly.

    Like

  21. Carrie Stalcup March 28, 2017 / 5:49 pm

    Twisted tubular herringbone is one of my most favorite stitches to do… and I smiled so big when I saw your reveal! I love the colorway you worked out, and I love that you’re in love with your necklace 🙂 You created a wonderful piece that did absolute justice to the focal bead!

    Like

  22. Kelly Schermerhorn April 1, 2017 / 1:15 am

    Wow! You took a unique bead and ran with a design that overall is quite sophisticated. I couldn’t imagine a better way to play up that focal. Your color choices and bead weaving style are simply superb.

    Like

  23. joyce becker April 1, 2017 / 8:20 pm

    The seed bead work is amazing and highlights the pendant so well. Must have taken you forever to sew all those teeny tiny beads…:-) Great job on your soup.

    Like

  24. Jennifer April 3, 2017 / 2:50 am

    I. Am. In. AWE. I love this piece!!! It’s perfect!

    Like

What Do You Think?

